Jen’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

This Is Why You’re Fat? 04/26/2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jennijs @ 7:01 PM

I was bored today and surfing the web on my computer when I came across the website www.thisiswhyyourefat.com. Have any you been there? It’s shocking.

I’ll be the first to admit that my eating habits used to be pooooor. I didn’t care about calories, or what the food I was putting into my body was doing to it. I ate everything I wanted, without so much as a second thought. Now that I count calories and I have a much greater understanding of what my relationship with food should be like, going to that website almost made me sick to my stomach. Here are a couple of examples of the foods on there…

Mega Mel Burger – 5lbs Beef, 1lb Bacon 1/4lb Cheese. This thing had to be over a foot tall, but I really didn’t doubt that the massive man photographed behind it was going to inhale every last piece of it.

McGangBang – A McChicken sandwich inside a double cheeseburger. I can’t even begin to imagine the calories in this thing, but I do think the name is kind of amusing.

Deep Fried Pepperoni Pizza – I love pizza. Looove it. I also know that traditional crust pizzas, even with only a few toppings will run you 400-500 calories per piece. Wonder what that number jumps to when you deep fry it? And really….doesn’t pizza taste good enough already? Why deep fry it?

I had a huge reality check recently when I decided to find out how many calories were in my favorite meal from McDonald’s. I would always get the double quarter pounder with extra cheese, large fries, and a large diet coke. Turns out that’s about 1400 calories. That’s about what I eat in an entire day now!

Taking a break from that kind of food, you really realize the negative affects it has had on your body. When I eat healthy I need less sleep, I have more energy, my skin is better and I’m just happier. I slipped up last week and decided to have some chicken wings and onion rings. Man was I feeling sick afterwards. My stomach was killing me and I had trouble falling asleep that night. I’m glad I ate it though, because it was really a lightbulb moment for me. I function so much better when I treat my body with the respect it deserves.  I have two cats, and I would never dream of feeding them any of the crap I was eating on a daily basis. So why would I do that to myself?

I was amused looking at some of the creations on the website, but none of it looked appetizing. Two months ago that site probably would have been inspiration for disgusting, unhealthy meals. Now it’s motivation for me to workout more and eat even better.

 

Leave a Reply

