Jen’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Run, Run, Run 04/29/2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jennijs @ 12:43 AM

I’m one of those people that doesn’t mind running. I actually like it. The treadmill is my preferred piece of equipment. I’m on it almost everyday. It was a Christmas present in 2004 and while it’s been a rocky relationship, I do love it. In the few months after I got the treadmill, I got down to 196, which was my lowest weight in awhile. I’d been hovering around the 205 mark for awhile, but I didn’t have a scale at home. The only opportunity I had to weigh myself was at my dad’s house every two weeks when I would stay with him. Knowing that my next encounter with the scale was two weeks away left me a lot of room to cheat. To manipulate my plan and do exactly what I wanted. I quickly gained the weight back plus some. I’m thankful that I have never gained weight rapidly. Since Christmas 2004 I’ve probably put on another 20lbs, but that’s four years, so it isn’t a lot. Still…225 is sickening enough.

I’m in love with my treadmill right now. We’ve been having some problems lately…It was leaving me injured and cranky. I could tell that I was on my way to shin splints, but I was too stubborn to give up my routine entirely. Instead I was icing my legs, stretching and taking aspirin before every workout. It was helping, but I was still fighting it. Then I finally realized that I could keep going on the treadmill, I just had to change up my routine. So that led to last weeks five workouts of speed walking. I HATE speedwalking. I just want to break into a run, but instead I’m forced to walk at that torturous pace for what seems like forever. The one nice thing about it was that I didn’t need music as much to motivate me so instead I was watching movies on my iPod during my workouts.

I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep up that routine for another week. I wanted to change it up a bit so my body doesn’t adjust, and any excuse to not speedwalk is good enough for me. So today when I got on the treadmill I decided to mess with the pre-programmed things on it. There are intervals and a “weight loss” setting. I would tell you what that means, but I lost my manual forever ago, so I have absolutely no idea. I chose intervals and then blindly picked a level hoping that I wasn’t getting myself in too deep. It worked out fine, and I ended up spending an hour on there without even realizing it. I think I’ll play around with it a little more tomorrow. Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

