Jen’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Moments That Make It All Worth It 05/08/2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jennijs @ 1:04 PM

I like going on the treadmill. Sometimes. But even on the days that I’m totally into it, it’s hard. I’m carrying a lot of extra weight and that doesn’t make running very easy. When I started 8 weeks ago, I could barely run a 1/4 of a mile, and at the end of that, I was huffing and puffing like I was about to die. A couple of weeks in I was able to run 1/2 a mile without having that dieing feeling. I was insanely proud of myself, and I really didn’t think it could get any better, at least not for awhile. Then the other day I was on the treadmill….and I did my warm-up, then I started running. Normally I would quit at the six minute mark, which would be 1/2 a mile. But I kept going. I ended up running for 3/4 of a mile, which is a huge accomplishment for me. My biggest obstacle when running is my tendency to panic when I start to get out of breath. But I’ve been able to focus on my breathing and taking in longer, deeper breaths instead of those short, rapid ones, and it’s made all the difference. I think  I’m going to try to run a full mile soon. Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

